# The war between science and religion

Date: 2019-08-04


With the West heading towards secularism more and more, and with the great discoveries in the field of biological evolution and astronomy, the limits of faith have shrunk dramatically during this period of time, resulting in an increasing shouting and religious wailing that says by consensus with religion, That science derives its principles from religion.

(Science is not only a target but also morality, also read: Is religion the source of ethics?)

If you are a believer and do not want others to see you against science and evolution, what will you do? In this case you have no choice but to say that your religion - or religion - is perfectly matched with science. Here we see allegations after claims from believers, religious scholars and scientific organizations that receive funding from religious parties, all claiming not only that science and religion are compatible with one another, but also complement and help each other.


The war between science and religion
I say here that this is all misleading, and I say that science and religion are not only incompatible - but at war - and represent different ways of seeing the world.

What are the ways of science and religion?
Science is a set of tools we use to find out what is in the universe, bearing in mind that this fact is temporary and can be scrutinized and is not an absolute certainty. These tools include observing nature, testing hypotheses and doing as much as possible to prove that these hypotheses are wrong in order to test the confidence as valid, in addition to conducting experiments and above all, repeating the results to increase the reliability as a result.

While on the other side stands religion, which is a social system whose followers swear allegiance to a supernatural element whose satisfaction is sought. Of course, not all religions (in thousands) necessarily fall under this definition, but the most vocal voices about the conformity of religion with science are followers of the Abrahamic religions (Christianity, Islam and Judaism) to which this definition applies.

We must understand that both science and religion are based on a range of different convictions about the universe. The point of view of religion on this subject differs from science based on the factors of the stick and the carrot. A person can not describe himself as a Christian if he does not believe the resurrection of Jesus again, nor is it Muslim if it is not true that Muhammad flew on a winged prostitute in Israa and Maraj, If it is unbelievable events of the survival of his ancestors in the desert.

How can a believer accept the principle of science that everything is subject to scrutiny and error while absolutely believing in the validity of the teachings of his religion?

The Bible says: "If there is no resurrection of the dead, then Jesus will not be resurrected, which means that our beliefs are wrong and your faith is wrong."

The Qur'an says: "Whoever does not believe in Allah and His Messenger, then we will be prepared for disbelievers."

The difference between religion and science is based on the means and methods used to express the truth, and what is the result of this fact: and thus the difference is profoundly at the methodological level and in the final outcome. In contrast to the means of science, religion governs the truth not on a empirical basis, but on the basis of faith, sacred texts, and the authority entrusted to God, meaning "through faith" without the need to seek evidence, and this applies to almost all 4,000 religions Existing on our planet, which each claims to be right.

While science achieves achievement after achievement in understanding the universe, the method of religion remains by using absolute faith free of hands in terms of proving what is claimed. How much is there? What is their nature and moral values? Is there beyond life? Why do all these evils exist? There is no one explicit answer to any of these questions, all gas, all based on faith.

Based on these facts, we can say that the war between science and religion is in fact the difference between our collection of the good reasons that make us believe a particular subject, and between the belief that this subject is as mentioned in the sacred texts.




All rights reserved, Mustafa Al-Faris 2013 - 2019

# نعم هناك حرب ما بين العلم و الدين

بتاريخ: 2019-08-04
عدد التعليقات على الموضوع: 2

مع توجه الغرب نحو العلمانية أكثر فأكثر، و مع الإكتشافات العظيمة في مجال التطور الأحيائي و علوم الفلك، تقلصت حدود الإيمان بشكل دراماتيكي خلال هذه الفترة الزمنية مما أدى الى تزايد الصراخ و العويل الديني الذي يقول بتوافق العلم مع الدين، بل تزداد الوقاحة إلى حد الزعم بأن العلم في الأساس يستمد مبادئه من الدين.

(ليس العلم فقط مستهدف بل الأخلاق أيضا، إقرأ أيضا : هل الدين مصدر الأخلاق؟)

لو كنت مؤمنا و لا تريد ان يراك الاخرون بأنك ضد العلم و التطور، ماذا ستفعل؟ في هذه الحالة لا خيار أمامك سوى القول بأن دينك - او اي دين - هو متطابق بشكل ممتاز مع العلم. وها نحن نرى مزاعم تلو المزاعم من المؤمنين، العلماء المتدينين و المنظمات العلمية التي تتلقى تمويلا من جهات متدينة، كلهم يزعمون ليس فقط ان العلم و الدين متوافقان مع بعض، بل ايضا يتممان و يساعدان بعضهما الاخر.

أنا هنا اقول بان هذا كله تضليل، و اقول بأن العلم و الدين ليسا فقط غير متوافقين - بل في حالة حرب - و يمثلان طرق مختلفة لرؤية العالم.

ماهي طرق العلم و طرق الدين ؟

العلم هو مجموعة من الادوات نستخدمها لمعرفة حقيقة ما في هذا الكون، مع مراعات ان هذه الحقيقة هي مؤقتة قابلة للتمحيص و ليست حقيقة مطلقة مؤكدة. هذه الادوات تتضمن مراقبة الطبيعة، اختبار الفرضيات و بذل اقصى ما يمكن لاثبات ان هذه الفرضيات هي خاطئة من اجل اختبار الثقة بانها صحيحة، بالاضافة الى اجراء التجارب و فوق كل هذا تكرار النتائج لزيادة الموثوقية بالنتيجة.

بينما في الجهة الاخرى يقف الدين و الذي هو عبارة عن نظام اجتماعي يقوم اتباعه بقسم الولاء لعنصر خارق للطبيعة والذي يتم البحث عن رضاه و موافقته. بالطبع ليست جميع الاديان (وهي بالالاف) تندرج بالضرورة تحت هذا التعريف، لكن اكثر الاصوات صياحا حول مطابقة الدين مع العلم هم اتباع الاديان الابراهيمية (المسيحية، الاسلام و اليهودية) والتي ينطبق عليها هذا التعريف بشكل ممتاز.

يجب ان نفهم ان كلا من العلم و الدين يستندان الى مجموعة من القناعات المختلفة حول الكون. وجهة نظر الدين حول هذا الموضوع تختلف عن العلم باستنادها على عوامل العصا و الجزرة، فلا يستطيع شخص يصف نفسه بالمسيحي اذا كان لا يصدق قيامة يسوع من جديد، ولا مسلم اذا كان لا يصدق ان محمد طار على بغلة مجنحة في الاسراء و المعراج، ولا يهودي اذا كان لا يصدق باحداث بقاء اسلافه في الصحراء!!.

 كيف يستطيع المؤمن قبول مبدأ العلم المتمثل بان كل شيء قابل للتمحيص و الخطأ بينما يؤمن بالمطلق بصحة تعاليم دينه؟

يقول الانجيل: "لو لم يكن هناك قيامة للاموات، فهذا يعني ان يسوع لن يبعث من جديد، وهذا يعني ان معتقداتنا خاطئة و ايمانك خاطيء بالنتيجة".

يقول القران: "وَمَن لَّمْ يُؤْمِن بِاللَّهِ وَرَسُولِهِ فَإِنَّا أَعْتَدْنَا لِلْكَافِرِينَ سَعِيرًا".

الاختلاف مابين الدين و العلم يستند على الوسائل و الطرق التي يتم استخدامها لبيان الحقيقة، و ما هي النتيجة لهذه الحقيقة: وبهذا يكون الاختلاف عميقا على الصعيد المنهجي و على صعيد المحصلة النهائية. فعلى النقيض من وسائل العلم، يقوم الدين بالحكم على الحقيقة ليس على اساس تجريبي، بل على اساس العقيدة، النصوص المقدسة و السلطة المنوطة بالاله، يمعنى اخر: عن طريق "الايمان" بدون الحاجة للبحث عن دليل، وهذا ينطبق تقريبا على اغلب ال 4000 ديانة الموجودة حاليا على كوكبنا، والتي يدعي كل منها انه على الصواب.

في الوقت الذي يحقق العلم الانجاز تلو الانجاز على صعيد فهم الكون، تبقى طريقة الدين باستخدام الايمان المطلق خالية اليدين من ناحية اثبات ما يتم ادعاءه. كم اله يوجد؟ ما هي طبيعتهم و قيمهم الاخلاقية؟ هل يوجد هناك ما بعد الحياة؟ لماذا توجد كل هذه الشرور؟ لا توجد هنا اجابة واحدة صريحة لاي واحد من هذه الاسئلة، كلها الغاز، كلها تستند على الايمان.

بناءا على هذه المعطيات، نستطيع القول بان الحرب ما بين العلم و الدين هي في الحقيقة الاختلاف مابين جمعنا للاسباب الجيدة التي تجعلنا نصدق موضوع معين، وما بين الايمان بان هذا الموضوع هو كما مذكور في النصوص المقدسة.

التوقيع الخاص ب مصطفى الفارس

عن الكاتب: مصطفى الفارس

إنسان قبل أي انتماء آخر، مهندس علماني من الطبقة الوسطى أعشق موسيقى الجاز وأتقن ثلاث لغات بشرية بالإضافة الى خمس لغات برمجية، على قناعة تامة بأن لي مطلق الحرية في التفكير والنقد وعدم السماح لما هو مقدس عند البعض بالتحكم في مصيري. في اوقات فراغي أكتب بعض المواضيع و أنشرها في هذه المدونة وغيرها من الاماكن. للتواصل يمكن استخدام البريد الالكتروني.
من هواياتي البرمجة، السفر، التصوير، الترجمة، إنشاء و إدارة المواقع الالكترونية ثم كتابة المواضيع فيها.

البريد الألكتروني: [email protected]

تويتر: @enlcafe